PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know anything about webcams?


auntcrafty
10-08-2008, 04:46 PM
I have been trying to get my webcam up and running so I can chat with my family in Maine. I have a Logitech Quickcam Deluxe for Notebooks. My family is able to hear me, but they can't see me (thru two different sites). This newfangled stuff throws me for a loop and I don't know if it is due to operator error or what. Logitech's forum is set up weird so you can't do a thread/subject search.

Any suggestions?

Hildegard_von_Knittin
10-08-2008, 07:30 PM
Have you tried uploading the driver? You'll need the model number, which should be on the webcam (and the box, if you happen to have that). You can get the driver from the website, or do a google search for "logitech webcam *insert model number here* + driver"

I have problems with my webcam on yahoo messenger all the time. Oddly, I don't have any problems with msn or paltalk.

HTH!
Carolyn

Knitting_Guy
10-08-2008, 09:56 PM
What software are you using to communicate with them? You mention "sites" so am wondering exactly how you're going about this.

Typically if you want to video chat with someone you'll use an application like Yahoo Messenger or MSN (assuming your using *shudder* Windows).

Some additional information will help in figuring out the problem.

auntcrafty
10-09-2008, 12:00 PM
We were trying to go use Youcam thru Facebook & AIM. The message that appeared at both sites was "no camera in use". I can see & hear him ("baby" brother) fine using youcam & he can hear me on AIM, so the mic is working. He was on my mother's laptop when we were on AIM. I can't figure out how to get the image to broadcast. I removed the program & reloaded it this morning, so I'm hoping when I get home from work this afternoon we can try it out again. It was frustrating, because I wanted to be able to chat with my nieces & nephew (plus the adults). I have to get this figured out before Sunday when his daughter is visiting.

Knitting_Guy
10-09-2008, 11:32 PM
Make sure the driver for the webcam is installed. It could be that Windows simply doesn't recognize it as a camera. It should be easy enough to download and install the driver from the camera manufacturer's website.