PDA

View Full Version : Dyeing - how likely am I to mess up?

unwordable
10-16-2008, 01:13 PM
I have some lovely alpaca wool yarn, and I'm thinking about dyeing it black...but I've never used acid dyes before and I don't want to risk ruining the yarn. So what's the learning curve on dyeing yarn? How likely is a beginner to get it right the first time? I've only Kool-Aid dyed Fishersman's Wool before! (and that didn't really work very well!)

I already have some Jacquard acid dye (http://www.knitpicks.com/Jacquard+Acid+Yarn+Dyes+-+27+Colors_ADJacquardDyes.html). So what do you more experienced at dyeing recommend? Should I go ahead and dye my alpaca yarn, or should I do a few practice runs before I try on yarn I care about?

Thanks!

KnittinMitchie
10-16-2008, 01:37 PM
It was suggested to me that you dye the white yarn blue first then black. By doing it this way you will get a truer black. if it where me I would just bite the built and dye the yarn.

Foxyie
10-18-2008, 10:44 PM
i have to say i would prefer not to dye yarn black.. heh

about a month ago i dyed some superwash yarn black and had to dye it twice with loooots of dye power.. it soaked it all up and didn't bleed but it still turned out a little variegated.

i haven't dyed alpaca before so i'm not sure how it takes dyes..i would def suggest a good long soak before in addition to dyeing it blue first.. i haven't tried that ..seems lke it would work well though

have fun and good luck!

fibrenut
10-19-2008, 01:08 AM