PDA

View Full Version : Hello, and HELP! How to work with difficult yarn?

PrincessArtemis
11-20-2008, 12:46 PM
Hi, I'm new new new here, but figured, with a site name like KnittingHelp, that there would be people here who could help me figure out how to deal with a particularly difficult yarn.

(I'm pretty new to anything different than garden variety yarn and crochet thread...)

So, to explain...I've been crocheting for years, though not constantly and I can't say I'm very consistent at it (have not mastered Keeping Stitches The Same Size yet), I am comfortable with it and can do, with some reminder, some reasonably advanced stitches. I've made doilies and small, really basic blanket sorts of things. I'm also very very patient when it comes to untangling yarn.

But this yarn I got, sight unseen, is really making me tear my hair out. It's raw recycled silk, so it's not all one color and it tends to shed bits. I thought that a silk afghan would be neat to have, and the yarn was not extremely expensive (though it was certainly more than ye olde garden variety), with the proceeds going to a charity. So I have many skeins of this yarn, and I am determined to win the fight. This is where the "uncanny patience for untangling yarn" comes in...