PDA

View Full Version : Help with an extra stitch at the beginning of a row

dkorbat
11-29-2008, 07:39 AM
Hello everyone,
I'm a beginner trying to knit a scarf for my girlfriend, because it's getting really cold around here, and I thought it would make her a bit warm for Christmas. cloud9

I'm knitting the basic ribbing (knit 2 purl 2 kind), I finished my last row and try joining a new yarn using the "Knit-and-Join" video, I think I accidentally manage to stitch an extra stitch in the beginning of my new row. I didn't realize it only until I knit and purl 5 stitches.

So the next correct stitch should be a knit stitch, but my bottom row is a purl, so I'm off by a stitch.

I'm sorry if I made this sound complicated, I'm just not quite sure how to explain...

The question, is there a simple way to correct/remove that 1 extra stitch at the beginning? Should I continue knitting like usual and fix the extra stitch later when I'm finished? I'm afraid it would ruin everything because I've just finished my 2nd yarn...

Thanks very much for your time.

Warmest regards from South-East Asia!

Mystery_Gyrl
11-29-2008, 08:20 AM
Well, it depends on what you want to do and the situation. You could frog (unravel stitches back to a point where you can fix your mishap) the stitches or since this is a simple k2 p2 scarf you could simply stay in pattern and on the following row decrease (k2tog or p2tog wherever the additional stitch occurred) two of the three stitches on the end where the extra stitch shows up. K2tog and P2tog is a single decrease because you are joining two stitches to make one stitch (or lose one stitch). K2 p2 ribbing tends to curl at the sides so the extra stitch should not be noticeable.
Katrina

dkorbat
11-29-2008, 10:02 AM
Hi Katrina, thanks for your reply.
So after I unravel those 5 stitches, should I pick up those stitches as in "Fixing Mistakes: without unraveling rows and fixing a dropped stitch" video?