PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and question

Pattym
12-03-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi everyone! It seems that I always start to knit this time of year. I love to knit and crochet, sew, and watercolor paint. I'm a technical writer by day, artist by night. :inlove:
I am knitting some socks (for the first time) and I'm getting frustrated using the double-pointed needles. At least I'm having difficulty with the first round. I can't control the twisting so I never get too far with the socks. I'm looking for any advice on how to knit with double-pointed needles.
Also, I was wondering if they make a circular needle for socks. 16" is too big hence the need to master the double-pointed needles.

dustinac
12-03-2008, 01:23 PM
Hi and Welcome to KH!!

With dpns it just comes with time. It can be annoying those first couple of rounds, but it does get easier.

They do have some circs out there thought that some use for sock knitting. Here (http://www.knittingzone.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=23_1089_1159)is a link to a few.

I like Magic Loop for socks too and a lot of people like to use 2circs. Here (http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/advanced-techniques)is the link to Amy's videos for that :thumbsup:

It's all in what is comfy for you and what you enjoy working with. I still drag out my dpns every once in a while but Magic loop is my favorite :happydance:

Plantgoddess+
12-03-2008, 01:35 PM
To avoid twisting on the 1st round, I lay my needles with the cast on stitches on a table or flat surface and arrange it in the order the needles will be knit. I then orient all the stitches so they point into the circle. I then pick up the 1st and last needle and knit the 1st stitch cast on. Once you get the first couple of stitches knit you should be fine. It gets much easier to knit on DPNs after several rounds.

Abbily
12-03-2008, 03:39 PM