PDA

View Full Version : Circular or straight

lilahcakes
12-19-2008, 11:55 PM
Im very new to knitting and my husband has offered to get me a knitting needle set. I like the wooden harmony, but dont know if I should get the straight or the circular set. If people could give me the pro and cons of both I would be so greatful :star:

zkimom
12-19-2008, 11:59 PM
I would have to vote circulars. You can knit flat with circular needles but you can't knit circular with straight needles.

The circular set would give you much more flexibility.

sabrinasmom
12-20-2008, 12:03 AM
I like the circulars. You don't have to knit in the round , you can use them as straight needles. They keep the weight off of your wrists and arms more than straight needles. Don't know if what you are considering are interchangables but interchangables are great. I'm sure there are cons but I really like interchangable circular needles.

Marria
12-20-2008, 12:12 AM
Another vote for circulars here--they are definitely a lot easier on the wrists, and plus, you don't have to worry about losing a needle. :)

vaknitter
12-20-2008, 12:24 AM
Add me to the circular vote...you can use them as straight, but you cannot you straight as circular. My hubby bought me an interchangeable set a couple of years ago and I am addicted now ... I am working on getting set #3 for Christmas.

Jan in CA
12-20-2008, 01:31 AM
Another vote for circulars! You can use them for flat or circular knitting so they are fabulous. I have the Options and love them, but I know many love the Harmonys just as much!

lelvsdgs
12-20-2008, 01:58 AM
Yep, circulars are so much more flexible. I'd vote for circs.

tokmom
12-20-2008, 02:12 AM
circs here too.

suzeeq
12-20-2008, 02:15 AM
Looks like we got us a concensus going on.

luvmykid28
12-20-2008, 02:29 AM
Circs

WandaT
12-20-2008, 09:33 AM
Circs for me too ... much more versatile than straights.

Ellieblue
12-20-2008, 11:13 AM