PDA

View Full Version : I have some general questions..

Anonymous1
01-04-2009, 01:43 AM
So, I learned some knitting in my old highschool crafts class. I'm almost a complete newbie at this. For my birthday my boyfriend got me something hand made that I loved, and I'd like to do the same for his birthday about.. 2 months from now. I want to knit him a blanket, at least 3x3 in length&height. I have to learn how to knit, do a small practice project or few depending on how quick I catch on, and then begin knitting the blanket. I also understand it's going to take a lot of dedication and time to do this. My questions are:

Is 2 and a half months a realistic time frame to knit a 3x3 blanket for someone who knows near nothing about knitting (I'm willing to put in two to three hours + daily)? Is writing hard to do? A lot of material on home made things I see isn't what would be good for a blanket, it's a little itchy. What kind of material would be good/durable for a blanket?

crazykntter83
01-04-2009, 01:57 AM
If you're only willing to put in 1 or 2 hours into the blanket within a 2 1/2 month time frame, I don't know how reasonable that is. Plus you're going to have to take the time to learn to knit. As far as learning how, this site is a great start. :) About the yarn, it'll usually soften up after a wash. I like caron simply soft. It's what I'm using on the afghan that I'm crocheting atm.
I would suggest a smaller project, if 2 1/2 months is all you have. I would do something like a scarf. Maybe a blanket could be a Christmas present if you end up liking the craft? Hope this helped. Good luck! :)

tokmom
01-04-2009, 02:19 AM
Hello and welcome!