PDA

View Full Version : Hi, Im new to knitting and need a bit of help

Jewlia
01-10-2009, 07:06 PM
So, I watched the video for cast on and ive got that down but what do i do next?

Im confused.

I usually pick things up really quick but this is kind of tricky.

Knitting_Guy
01-10-2009, 07:11 PM
Once you've cast on you knit or purl your first row if knitting flat, and if knitting in the round you join and then knit or purl your first round.

Welcome to KH and to knitting!

Watch the videos for the knit and purl stitches as they are a big help. Once you get those two stitches down you're pretty well on your way.

Sknitter56
01-10-2009, 07:12 PM
After you've learned how to cast on, you'll need to learn the knit stitch and the purl stitch. Practice the knit stitch until you get comfortable with it, then go on to the purl stitch. Actually, the knit and purl are the only two stitches for knitting, but it's all the other things you do with them that make knitting so much fun. Welcome to the forum...you've found a great resource for all your questions.

Jewlia
01-10-2009, 07:14 PM
After you've learned how to cast on, you'll need to learn the knit stitch and the purl stitch. Practice the knit stitch until you get comfortable with it, then go on to the purl stitch. Actually, the knit and purl are the only two stitches for knitting, but it's all the other things you do with them that make knitting so much fun. Welcome to the forum...you've found a great resource for all your questions.

ok, so i just continue on?
Should i fill up the needle with the cast on?

Gosh i feel like such a moron!

Sknitter56
01-10-2009, 07:19 PM
If you're just going to practice the stitches, I wouldn't "fill up" the needle....you'll run the risk of your stitches falling off the tips. Maybe just cast on 25-30 stitches for now and practice, practice, practice. Amy has great videos on this site to teach you the basic stitches.