PDA

View Full Version : Making a cable?

Nenwing
01-17-2009, 11:14 PM
I am very new to knitting, in fact I just started learning last night!
I've got down pretty much the purl stitch and the knit stitch, and have done stockinette stitch (alternating purl and knit stitch). I haven't really made anything yet, just a blob of knitting that is like a sampler that I am just practicing different stitches.

Anyways, I saw her video on how to twist the cable stitch. I purled, then did like 6 knit stitches, then purled more, then did 6 more knit stitches, then purled the rest, to make some cables. The thing is, is the knit stitch the basis for a simple cable? It doesn't seem to stick out nice and shapely like hers does in the video. The video has me purling, then when I get to the cable, slipping the first 3 or 4 stitches on a cable needle, then knitting the last 3 or 4 first, then going back and knitting the ones off the cable needle, and purling the backround. I can do the twist part, but the rest of the cable itself (before she twists it) is that a different stitch than the knit stitch? I'm thinking it must be because the edges on hers are very defined and stick out. Mine just kind of look odd!

:knitting: <--first time I can use this smiley! :mrgreen:

knitgal
01-17-2009, 11:34 PM
It sounds like you've got it down. Sometimes cables look a little funny before you have a couple of inches done. Actually, all knitting looks off until you've done a few rows. Keep going and you'll see how it will look.

I'm impressed- you learned last night and you're cabling? You're awesome!

Knitting_Guy
01-17-2009, 11:47 PM
That's pretty much a cable. If ya purl just before and after the knit cable it makes them stand out. Ya just reverse the order of a few stitches. It's really pretty simple but looks really cool.

Marria
01-18-2009, 02:11 AM
When you say that it doesn't stick out as much--what kind of yarn are you using? Some types of yarn make cables "pop" better than others.

Nenwing