PDA

View Full Version : newbie with a question about a needles store

cresmoon
01-24-2009, 03:49 PM
Hi, all! I've been lurking for some time but finally decided to join up because I'm a VERY novice knitter and could really use some help (only learned the knit, purl, and cast on and cast off so far and have made nothing but scarves but I hope to make some progress soon!)

Anyway, my question is this: has anyone heard of/bought from this seller of bamboo needles?

http://www.8season-knitting.com/

I was thinking of buying from them because their prices are so cheap but I'm a little wary of buying online from sellers I don't know anything about. And it's complicated because even though their seller ratings are so good, they're in China so it won't be as easy buying or returning if I have to. And with the prices that low, I'm a little worried about the quality of their needles. But with them I can get 3 sets of needles, about 15 pairs per set, for about $45, s/h included. Yes, really. It almost sounds too good to be true. I emailed the seller and she seems nice enough and I'm really tempted. Only big concern of mine is that the needles won't be good quality and I have to put in my payment info online (which I've done before but only with Amazon).

Anyone use this seller before or know anything about them? I figured if anyone would, it would be someone here. Thanks in advance.

Btw, that knitting smilie is so cute!

katknit
01-24-2009, 04:46 PM
I haven't used that site, but I've been knitting for a long time, and in my experience, cheap bamboo needles aren't very good. I'm partial to Clovers, myself.

Marria
01-24-2009, 04:47 PM
I've never heard of them, but if you are worried about the seller being overseas, Amazon has excellent prices on a variety of bamboo needles. They aren't quite as cheap, but still very reasonably priced:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=bamboo+knitting+needles&x=0&y=0

mountgigantic
01-24-2009, 06:39 PM