PDA

View Full Version : General beginner question

pbs
03-02-2009, 02:01 PM
I'm a really new beginner and have a silly question. Is it best to pull your yarn from the center of the skein or from the outside? I've done all of 6 rows of a baby blanket, ripped it out, and am starting over because it isn't "perfect", so I thought I'd try to pull the yard in the correct manner--if I pull from the center it seems to tangle, but if I pull from the outside it rolls all over everywhere. Sorry to be so "begin-erish", but I really want to know.

Also has anyone tried those round plastic balls that you put your yarn in and pull it through a hole in the ball?

Jan in CA
03-02-2009, 02:06 PM
That is one of those things that is really personal choice. I can't stand to have the ball flopping around and falling off the chair. I want it sitting next to me quietly so I pull from the center. It does sometimes tangle so I often make my own center pull cakes (balls with a flat bottom).

At the bottom of the video page here is a video of how to make a center pull ball.
http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/knitting-tips

globaltraveler
03-02-2009, 02:11 PM
Some yarns don't really work with center-skeins -- the ones that are really furry like mohair or alpaca really tangle up if you try it. But I prefer center pull skeins whenever possible. I use a makeshift nostepinne (a slender PVC tube) to ball my yarns. If I can, I use it as a center pull. If I can't, I roll it with a flat bottom so I have a fighting chance of the ball not rolling everywhere.

I use the KnitWit project bags, which are the fabric version of those plastic yarn holders you're talking about, and love them. I tried using ziplock bags, but eventually ended up with yarn vomit, tugged on the yarn, and ended up with it all over the place anyway. Not very good if you're out and about on a bus or train. That doesn't seem to happen with the project bags, so now I almost always use them.

cftwo
03-02-2009, 02:35 PM