PDA

View Full Version : Finished! My first beret

hheartstrongg
03-07-2009, 06:01 PM
I'm a beginner and before this, have knitted a scarf. That's it. I taught myself to knit from the internet and a book my mom got, and any mistakes were helped with here :) So I decided to tackle this beret for my best friends birthday and finished it JUST in time.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y79/_MiserablexBliss_/CIMG0822.jpg

It was surprisingly easy for me being a beginner. I did buy the wrong wool, so at first it was too small, and I had to rip it out. Then the pattern was doubled and it's now too big. Also, when the pattern was doubled there was a row of purling that should have been knitting, causing a line to show in the finished hat. Next time I do it, I'll be aware of that and fix it!

Anyway, I'll probably show this to my friend and tell her that I will makeher a better one, it will just be late haha. And i love how soft it is!!

ladytruckdriver
03-07-2009, 07:26 PM
Wow, you're really doing good! I've not tried any kind of clothing yet. Just dish cloths and working on my second afghan. Keep up the good work.

Slim
03-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Way to go! It's okay if it's a bit big -- the slouchy look is in. If it's wool you could always try to shrink it just a bit, too. I love the color.

Arielluria
03-07-2009, 08:37 PM
That is great! WAY better than my first one! Your friend will be so thankful! Is that Caron Simply Soft? I like the sheen.

MrsP
03-08-2009, 09:33 AM
I think it looks great! And, as people have reminded me - if you don't point out the flaws to your friends, then they will never notice a mistake! I doubt that she would ever notice a row of purls and if she did, she would probably think they were there on purpose!! :-)

I say give it to her and see how if fits her - she might LOVE it and not want a different one! :-)

I am so glad that you were able to finish it!

WandaT
03-08-2009, 10:51 AM
Congrats to you!! It looks wonderful! :)

dustinac