PDA

View Full Version : What does.

celtic52
04-20-2009, 04:09 PM
Does anybody know what C2B and C2F mean and how to do them, I found this pattern at Michaels Bernat Softee Baby Knit Blanket Textured Blocks and it has these abbreviations but does not explain them. I have been knitting for four years now but just do not know what they mean. Thanks. Leslie

albertpollard
04-20-2009, 04:15 PM
Could it be an abbreviation for Cable to Back and Cable to Front?

celtic52
04-20-2009, 04:16 PM
Don't know??? could mean that but how many stitches do you think??

GirlChris
04-20-2009, 04:41 PM
maybe post a little more of the instructions, maybe it will make more sense to someone in context. My first thought too was (well it's something in Back and Front maybe cable?) But I'm not sure either.

celtic52
04-20-2009, 05:04 PM
GirlChris, thanks so much the pattern is from Michaels by Bernat a baby afghan, and the first Row 1: K5, *C2B, C2F, K9. Rep from * to last 9 sts. C2B, C2F, K5.
I am thinking it is a cable from the picture but I am not really sure, and none of my knitting books have anything like this in them. Thanks, Leslie

knittinfiasco
04-20-2009, 05:25 PM
It is indeed cable with 2 sts held in back, then cable with 2 held in front. If there not a legend or key somewhere in the instructions? Perhaps the end of them?

celtic52
04-20-2009, 05:44 PM
No there is no legend or key in the instructions. My problem is that I have found various different meanings for these abbreviations, one of them being exactly what you said but another has been knit in the back of the second stitch from the left but do not take it off the needle and then knit into the first stitch and take both of them off together. So you see it is very confusing. Thanks, Leslie

knittinfiasco
04-20-2009, 05:53 PM
Ah, the not taking it off the needle, then working another st is known as a 'twist' in some dictionaries. Is the twist 2 sts and the cable bigger (4 sts)?