PDA

View Full Version : Do you feel this way about socks?

Quiltlady
06-07-2009, 01:39 PM
I've been knitting socks from the toe up for a few years and I love how they turn out. I have used ALL different brands of sock yarns. Opal, Lorna's Lace, and Regia just to name a few. But after I wear them for a short while they seem to GROW on my feet. They get loose. One brand I noticed felt slippery on my hard wood floors!! I am reluctant to wear them again for fear of slipping on the floor. I don't wear my knit socks with shoes since they make my shoes too tight so I am happy just to wear them around the house.
I've been knitting socks mostly with Cascade Fixation sock yarn that has elastic in it and I LOVE how they come out. They are soft, sturdy and stretchy but they do NOT grow on my feet and they wash well and dry fine too. I literally wear them all day long around the house.
I love the other yarns for their colors and self striping effects etc..but does anyone else experience their socks "growing" with each step? Any way I can end up loving those other fancy sock yarns and enjoy wearing them? Thanks so much for any insight you can give me.:knitting: :knitting:

knittingymnast
06-07-2009, 02:19 PM
You know the non-skid stuff for the bottoms of the sock? I've heard if you put those on, they work. Besides, you said that you don't wear your socks with shoes, so....

http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=USPlastic&category%5Fname=19349&product%5Fid=17160&MSCSProfile=95385A1F52DEA1A229D5B3754205446486BDBD FC19652860390B1F300991108700D4A5C3EBBF018BA830CB5E F661D055A9BEC74B17E226D07AA2BB6757C1EA58207CF18D3C 1B99BA3969E8E5229DA6F27C236C215C9D0280415E171A5583 815994036680252086F0CEA98932C4165A92A79EA2F6AAFF2D 39AED7363D843FCA47BCAA11DBBCD896D2

http://www.save-on-crafts.com/jifgripbrnon.html

(Thanks to Jan for referring me and yiziee to these sites! :thumbsup:)

Crycket
06-07-2009, 11:03 PM