PDA

View Full Version : ACRYLLIC Options From Knit Picks

Arielluria
07-30-2009, 04:45 PM
Just got an email about acryllic options (http://www.knitpicks.com/needles/knitting_needles.html?medid=BE090727_A&elink=1:Zephyr_A&media=BE090727_A&email=ladyborg@texasnova.com) from KP. I haven't heard of these. Are they brand new or has anyone tried them? How do you like them?

Jan in CA
07-30-2009, 04:52 PM
I just saw them in my new Interweave Knits that came today. I think they're brand new.

newamy
07-30-2009, 06:35 PM
I just got a knit picks e-mail advertising them. Interesting. I don't usually use plastic needles but for those who like them they might be good.

bmay33
07-30-2009, 08:22 PM
I started learning on a set of Susan Bates Acrylics.... it sucked..lol I hope these are better!

cresmoon
07-30-2009, 08:35 PM
I started on the acrylics straights I picked up at Joanne's and they are very grabby needles but I imagine these are probably smoother than those. It does say on the page that they're meant for people who travel, which means they probably made them because they thought like Denise's, they're not metal and would be airline safe. And they do seem to cost less than the nickel and Harmony sets.

suzeeq
07-30-2009, 08:42 PM
There's a whole thread about them on Ravelry - http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/knitpicks-lovers/720825/
However, they've just become available so I doubt anyone who doesn't work for KPs has tried them yet.

They're a lot less expensive than the others too.

cresmoon
07-30-2009, 09:21 PM
They are less expensive; at that price, I'm strongly tempted to order a set, except that if I finally cave in and buy a set of interchangeables, I really don't want acrylic needles.

You know...I wonder what aluminum needles would be like? Aluminum's not that expensive because it's so abundant and it would probably be very lightweight, too.

bmay33
07-31-2009, 12:15 AM