PDA

View Full Version : Anyone working on Knitty's Entomology shawl?

austingirl
08-08-2009, 11:44 PM
It's here: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEsummer09/PATTentomology.php

I've never done lace before and I'm struggling, and wondering if someone can help. It says to CO 43 stitches. But when I do that, I end up two stitches short. The chart says there are 45 stitches in the first row, which makes me wonder if there's a typo. But then, when I CO 45 stitches, work the first row, and then work the second row, I end up with several extra stitches. So I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I dug up a write-up of the chart from Ravelry, thinking that was my problem, but the same thing happened. (it's here: http://nelkindesigns.com/index.cfm/page/Tutorials/Ent_written.htm)

Any ideas? I've started over at least 4-5 times and am close to giving up, although I don't want to. I just keep making the same mistakes over and over again, apparently.

Mirl56
08-09-2009, 07:54 AM
My printer is wigging out on me so I can't get the chart to print. It's too small (and sideways) on my screen so i can't read the numbers well enough. So I went to the written word page and counted stitches. I do get 43 on row 1. There are 6 increases and 4 decreases so you've added 2 stitches to 45, the correct count for row 2.

same with row 2 - there 45 stitches, 6 increases,4 decreases so gives you 47 for the next row.

Are you doing the yarn over's correctly? Just count the yarn around the needle, don't count the next knit 1 as part of the YO.

Maybe it'll help to put stitch markers across the row to help counting.

Are you making it with the beads? I think stringing all those beads would make me go bonkers! It will be impressive when it's done!

suzeeq
08-09-2009, 10:01 AM
Yeah, the YOs throw the st count off if you don't do them correctly. I see chart A was revised July 7, so if you printed it off before, it may contain errors.

austingirl
08-09-2009, 10:23 AM