PDA

View Full Version : Eyelet Ribbed Baby Cardigan by Sue Hilger

DianaLynn
08-29-2009, 08:48 AM
I'm not a novice knitter, but I'm self-taught, so I'm really stuck on this - if someone can help me out, I'd really appreciate it. Working on the free pattern referenced above from Crystal Palace Yarns. 78 stitches on the needle calls for the following row:
K2*p2, k2, K2tog, K3, p2* rep to last 2 st and knit those

Knit the row twice and it didn't turn out, figured it was me, but then I mathematically tried to figure it out, and even though it's a decrease row, the math just doesn't add up to me - I'm thinking that the repeat has to use 12 stitches to equal 74 (78 minus the beginning and ending 2 stitches=4) - I only get 11 stitches from the repeat, so it won't work out.

This is the correction for the pattern - so I am really stymied. If anyone has any experience with this or a suggestion to fix it - I would really appreciate it. Thanks, Diana

suzeeq
08-29-2009, 09:21 AM
Here's a link to the pattern - http://www.straw.com/cpy/patterns/baby-child/pandacotton-baby-cardi.html
Doing the repeat 7 times gives you 70 sts at the end. I'm thinking the last repeat, instead of p2 at the end you do knit 2 instead for the edge stitches. Would that work out?

DianaLynn
08-30-2009, 12:53 PM
Figured it out! Thanks to all for researching. First part of dec row needs to follow the four stitch pattern already established, then start the repeat - a total of 6 stitches needs to be deducted from the original 78, leaving 72, then with the 9 (9x8=72, decreasing once each of the 9 repeats gave me the 78-8=70) stitch repeat creating the decrease, it works. * location on correction page is incorrect-should be after the P2, then 9 stitch repeat works - one too many p2 in the repeat. Back on track and moving right along. Sometimes just asking the question helps with figuring out the answer! :happydance:

PamJ
08-30-2009, 01:17 PM
Diana,