PDA

View Full Version : tricky scarf pattern

Woodi
10-02-2009, 08:29 AM
Well it is for me, but I'm not that experienced a knitter.

It is bulging on the left cuz I made an increase where I shouldn't have (twice!). Will leave this as a reminder to myself to be more careful. I also made one less garter ridge in the first section, urk!

http://www.soapmaker.ca/SoapPics/ParaScarf.JPG

It is fun and challenging for me to make this, cuz it requires more awareness than knitting skill. It's just knit, purl, inc and decreases. But I have to keep my wits about me (and some days it seems, those wits take a nap!) Much fun though, and I will wear this scarf in dark, gloomy wintertime, when a burst of sunshine is needed.

Every other row changes color, and there are 8 ridges of garter stitch, separated by 6 rows of stockinette, alternating orange and yellow yarns. The increase/dec rows are only on the right side. So I have to remember:
inc or not row
change color every two rows
work 8 ridges, then 6 rows stockinette
when beginning a new garter st section, begin with the color opposite to the one you ended the last section with.

Complicated? or Easy?....you decide.

margz3
10-02-2009, 09:29 AM
Those nice sunshiney colors will look great in the dead of winter! :thumbsup:

Woodi
10-02-2009, 08:11 PM
Got this far:

http://www.soapmaker.ca/SoapPics/KnitEndofDay.JPG

etoilechaude
10-02-2009, 08:21 PM
Very interesting pattern! It kinda looks like a sunrise with confetti :o)

WandaT
10-03-2009, 08:44 AM
Love the colors - very happy! This looks like it's a great pattern to practice with and you probably won't notice those mistakes when wearing it - at least others probably won't notice. ;)

Woodi
10-03-2009, 08:49 AM
Hope so, Wanda. I like it anyhow.

but now my hands and shoulders are sore, need to take a break from it - but don't want to! (know that feeling?)

WandaT
10-03-2009, 11:44 AM
Hope so, Wanda. I like it anyhow.