PDA

View Full Version : roof antenna for HDTV?

hartleystudio
10-04-2009, 02:31 PM
Hi:

My husband and I don't watch a ton of tv. We would love to get rid of cable and just switch to "regular" tv. We have a nice new tv that receives the digital signal but it's really patchy. We live back sort of in the woods and the nearest PBS station that we like is about a 45 minute drive away. We put a regular rabbit ear antenna in the attic but it's not making much of a difference. Have any of you gone to the next step of putting one of those old fashioned antennas on your roof? How much was it? Where did you get it? How does it work?

I'm trying to watch the National Parks documentary and it's like watching Max Headroom!

Any advice??

Jan in CA
10-04-2009, 02:39 PM
Well, I could be wrong, but I don't think you can get HD from an antenna or get channels other than local ones. :?? I believe that weather, trees and clouds can affect reception, too. I'm no expert though.

hartleystudio
10-04-2009, 03:00 PM
Hi Jan,

No, local stations broadcast in HD now, that's what the switch was, with the converter boxes and all. When we get a signal, the broadcast picture on our tv is AMAZING! It makes the cable picture that we pay for look horrible. It's just that I think we need a little more "oomph" for our reception. If it's stormy or windy, it's impossible to watch. Today is a lovely, clear day and it's squirrely today too. Then, other days it's great, no problems. I think a rooftop antenna would help us greatly but I don't know the where, how, and how much's about it.

AND, I can't nag my husband to do it unless I'm armed with more information!!

WolfWalker
10-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Here's a link I just found that sort of covers this very situation.

http://www.hdtvantennalabs.com/hd-antenna.php