PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a stretchy yarn!

NYCNessie
10-15-2009, 07:55 AM
Hi I am brand new to knitting and have only finished one real project since I started. My question and frustration is with my next pick of yarn for another project. I know its a user error but I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong so I am asking for help from more experienced knitters.

I have three balls of aMAZEing yarn in bright yellow and want to make a scarf and hat. it is %100 Corn Fiber and very stretchy. I cast on and when I try my very first row, it starts out fine but as I progress the length between my needles keeps growing and growing so by the time I am at the end of the row, my needles may be 5 inches apart! I cannot figure out how to adjust it, and I dont think I am pulling tight at all. I have torn it out and started over several times and am about to give up on this yarn all together! But it really is pretty and I want to learn to do it right.

Am i using too small needles? I am using #7 bamboo circular.

I appreciate any help you can offer!

Debbie
10-15-2009, 08:09 AM
Are you using the "long tail" cast on, or the "loop" cast on. Long tail usually keeps that from happening, and is much easier to knit on the first row. The video here at KH is WONDERFUL to help you learn ... once you get the hang of it, you will never go back !

suzeeq
10-15-2009, 09:42 AM
It's not the yarn or the needles, but probably the cast on you used. Try the long tail or cable cast on.

globaltraveler
10-15-2009, 02:40 PM
I agree on the cast-on. Does the yarn snap back into shape, or do you mean it stretches out and stays stretched out? Also:

I cannot figure out how to adjust it, and I dont think I am pulling tight at all.

If the yarn is really stretchy and doesn't snap back after knitting it, you might want to pull it tight, or maybe I mean "taut" instead of "tight". Keeping a light tension on it may or may not help while knitting. Have you done a swatch?

NYCNessie