PDA

View Full Version : Continental vs English for beginner

sootfoot5
02-07-2010, 02:43 PM
Hi - I'm wanting to learn to knit. I am an avid beader and I want to make knitted purses with beads, make knitted shawls that have beads, and oh, I have many ideas of knitted items I'd like to make that inclulde beads.

My question is this - since I'm just starting out, is it better for me to learn the Continental or English method since my plan is to add beads? Is either better for additing beads?

Thanks! Leslie/Sootfoot5

suzeeq
02-07-2010, 03:58 PM
Neither one is better for anything, it's all knitter's preference and which is easier or better for them. Try both and decide which seems better for you, and know that either way is going to feel awkward at first.

AngelaR
02-07-2010, 06:36 PM
Suzeeq speaks the truth. Whatever style you find that makes it easier for you to knit, use it.

Jan in CA
02-07-2010, 08:33 PM
:doh: No matter what you hear - one style is NOT better than the other. It's personal preference all the way. All the stitches can be done either way.

It also doesn't matter if you're a crocheter first..I was, but I knit english mostly because it felt more comfortable for me to knit that way.

Now...it IS helpful to know both ways for things like stranded (fair isle) knitting, but to learn try both and see what works for you. It's more important that you feel comfortable so you'll continue to practice. :thumbsup:

Sewing Angel
02-07-2010, 10:49 PM
I agree with everyone else. When I was first learning to knit, the teacher insisted I learn English. She said I would have problems understanding the pattern if I didn't learn that way. I could not get it. As I continued to knit, Continental was the way it seemed most natural to me. I would like to knit English for certain things, but it just doesn't work for me. Do what seems more comfortable for you.

GrandmaLori
02-07-2010, 11:35 PM