PDA

View Full Version : "Knitting Is A 2-Handed Craft." Huh?

CountryNaturals
03-03-2010, 12:28 PM
Every time the lefthanded/righthanded topic comes up, somebody says "knitting is a 2-handed craft." For me it isn't. I'm a leftie, btw. My right hand does nothing but hold a needle. Is this a left/right deal? A Continental/English deal? A basically self-taught deal?

I've always wondered why I knit so slowly and why my hand motions aren't pretty. I remember watching Miss Marple on TV and watching her fingers fly so beautifully while mine look so awkward and clumsy.

Somebody please tell me what you do with your "other" hand that makes knitting a 2-handed craft. I'd also like to know if there are others like me who don't get it.

Abby123
03-03-2010, 01:05 PM
As long as your stitches look good & the tension is even, there is no "correct" way to knit. There are endless ways to use your fingers & hands to make a knit or purl stitch.

But there are advantages to using some motion with both hands to create stitches. It is generally faster, has less hand fatigue & less risk of repetitive motion injury.

Jan in CA
03-03-2010, 01:37 PM
Well, I think it's said that way because you are using both hands even if one is just holding the needle. Generally though the fingers on less active hand hold back the stitches, push them forward, etc. I can knit both english and continental and depending on which way I knit one hand is more active than the other and when I knit with both during stranding they are both busy.

Everyone knits differently though and whatever works for you is what you should do. It's usually suggested that left handers learn to knit "right handed" (using either continental or engish method) because that is the way patterns are written. It's hard enough to learn to knit w/o having to rewrite a pattern so it makes sense. ;)

MMario
03-03-2010, 03:12 PM