PDA

View Full Version : HELP BEGINNER KNITTER

mamsmith25
03-28-2010, 02:15 PM
Ok, I am a very beginner knitter, but I have been knitting for a couple years. My problem is that I taught myself how to knit, and now I am all confused, my knitting looks nothing like any of the pictures... the closest I could find was a picture from spikey67 and it was just a little bit, my knitting looks like a swirly line! I don't know what I am doing wrong. Also, I never even knew there was such a thing as purling really until recently. I have no idea how to use it! Do you do a whole row as knitting and one as purling? Or one stitch knitting, one purling? I thought I was confident in my knitting, and now my whole world has turned upside down! Also, I have a very poor and inefficient way of knitting, the closest that it comes to is English style, but basically I stabilize one needle and then work around that, rather than moving both. I have watched many videos here, and I feel like if i were to knit like that, I would feel very out of control, and drop many stitches. SOMEONE HELP ME!!!!

Jan in CA
03-28-2010, 02:33 PM
It's not uncommon to hold the needles like that especially if you use long needles.

At the top of the page are videos. There is a section on knitting and purling plus the tips section has one on 'demo of a small project' that might be helpful, too.

If you need still pictures rather than video try these. They sometimes include a video, but if you scroll down you can see the still photos.
http://www.knitpicks.com/tutorials/English_Style__L10010101.html

Stockinette stitch is knit a whole row, turn then purl a whole row.

Ribbing is doing a combination of knits and purls in the same row. Like knit 2, purl 2, k2, p2, etc...

mamsmith25
03-28-2010, 02:40 PM