PDA

View Full Version : what is a good yarn that will last

caroljmartinez
11-24-2010, 04:21 PM
I'm new to knitting, so i need some help with knowing a good quality yarn, don't want spend all that time knitting then having it stretch out or pill. I want to make a Shaw that's soft and use a #19 needle, any suggestions. thanks sooo much

suzeeq
11-24-2010, 05:59 PM
To use that size needle you need at least a worsted weight yarn or a bulky, or use 2 strands of thinner yarn. Any yarn that's soft may have a tendency to pill. Alpaca, bamboo and silk by themselves tend to stretch, when blended they're not as bad. It helps if you have a pattern in mind - triangle, rectangle or semicircular - and what size.

Sapphire
11-25-2010, 01:43 AM
I recently made a nice long shawl/afghan type of knitted piece out of
Estelle Woolly Bully. It's a bulky yarn that comes in many color combinations. It was very easy to knit- was basically the same row repeated again and again. It also has a fringe. It's more of an around the house comfy shawl rather than a going out type of shawl. I knitted it on U.S. 19 needles. I can send you a link to the pattern if you like. It's a pricey yarn, but I like the way the shawl turned out. This type of yarn makes great outerwear, too (like hats and scarves).

knitcindy
11-25-2010, 08:45 AM
I'd like to see that shawl pattern too!!! Can you post it here, so we all can see it???

Thanks,
knitcindy

suzeeq
11-25-2010, 10:23 AM
Yes, please post a link here for others to see who may be interested in the pattern.

Sapphire
11-25-2010, 02:30 PM
I've found the link to the shawl pattern. Here it is:

http://www.estelledesigns.ca/PDFs/WBAfghan.pdf