PDA

View Full Version : gauge


mpsmom88
07-04-2011, 12:16 PM
Help! I have problem counting guage. pattern states 12 stitches and 20 rows =4 inches
I have 4 in width and 5 ins length. do I size up or down?.

salmonmac
07-04-2011, 01:07 PM
Make sure your swatch is more than 12 sts wide (say 16 sts cast on) so that you can measure 4 inches on the inside of the swatch. The edge sts are always a different size than the internal sts and if you count them it will throw off the gauge. If you're still ok on stitch gauge, most times it's safe to ignore the row gauge since most patterns will give you instructions after a certain length in inches has been completed.

suzeeq
07-04-2011, 08:15 PM
Match the stitch gauge, you can always knit less rows; lengths are usually given as measurements, not rows.