PDA

View Full Version : FO: First Cable Project

LoveBugAngel
02-06-2012, 12:31 AM
I'm kinda on a roll since I have started knitting haha

This is my first time doing cables. The hat initially was going to be for me, but came out way too small, so it's perfect to give to my cousins wife for her baby! It may be a bit big on her this year but hopefully it will fit next winter. I'm not sure why the cable braid doesn't show very well on the bear, maybe its stretched funny, but it is there!

TEMA
02-06-2012, 12:44 AM
Well, I'm in awe!
I have yet to do my first cable at all and here you have done a hat in all-over cable.
So sweet...
Is it smaller than you wanted because of the cabling? It doesn't look like it was knit too tight, that's why I'm asking....
Would love to try cable... how did you find it? Was it difficult?
Thanks,
TEMA:thumbsup:

LoveBugAngel
02-06-2012, 12:50 AM
Well, I'm in awe!
I have yet to do my first cable at all and here you have done a hat in all-over cable.
So sweet...
Is it smaller than you wanted because of the cabling? It doesn't look like it was knit too tight, that's why I'm asking....
Would love to try cable... how did you find it? Was it difficult?
Thanks,
TEMA:thumbsup:

I actually got the pattern from this site, the person who posted said that they used 110 sts because they knit very tight but if you knit loose then you can get away with about 80. I think I knit loose so I used 80 sts.

I didn't find it hard at all! I litterally watched the video posted here on the site on how to do cables and did a little practice swatch and when I saw I was doing it properly then I went ahead and tried the hat.

You should deff try!

nonny2t
02-06-2012, 06:14 AM
Very nice and the stuffed animal seems to love it!:)

salmonmac
02-06-2012, 06:14 AM
This is going to be one stylish baby. Beautiful work. The cables certainly show up and look great. Now maybe you should make a larger one for yourself?

GrumpyGramma
02-06-2012, 12:52 PM