PDA

View Full Version : PrayerShawl

SisterSusie
03-22-2005, 12:46 PM
I am a novice knitter who wants to make a prayer shawl for a friend whose husband is battling pancreatic cancer. The directions say knit 3, purl three...is this the same as ribbing...do I have move the working yarn around every time i change from k to p and likewise?
I am really anxious to get started but when I do the k and p, it does not look right at all. I would really appreciate any help.
Thanks SisterSusie :

ekgheiy
03-22-2005, 01:55 PM
I am a novice knitter who wants to make a prayer shawl for a friend whose husband is battling pancreatic cancer. The directions say knit 3, purl three...is this the same as ribbing...do I have move the working yarn around every time i change from k to p and likewise?
I am really anxious to get started but when I do the k and p, it does not look right at all. I would really appreciate any help.
Thanks SisterSusie :

Hi!

Yes, K3P3 is a rib. You have to move the yarn to the front of the work to do the purls and to the back of the work to do the knits. If you don't move the yarn, you'll add a LOT of stitches. ;) Check out Amy's Video (http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/videos/stitches/k2-p2-ribbing-english-rds.mpg) for K2P2 ribbing and just adjust it to your K3P3. Ribbing tends to look odd at the beginning stages b/c there isn't enough length for the ribbing to develope. After about 3" or so, you'll start to see the pattern form. If it still looks odd to you, perhaps your tension is inconsistant? :?? Also, if you are using a "novelty" yarn (Homespun comes to mind), the texture of the yarn might not be the best for showing off the ribbing.

Hope that helps a little

SisterSusie
03-22-2005, 04:31 PM
Thank you so much for the help with the K3P3...I will watch the video and work a longer piece of the pattern before I decide it is not right.
Appreciate your help.
Sistersusie

soolina
03-23-2005, 01:07 AM