PDA

View Full Version : Flappin Heel... :evil:

beldaraan
03-23-2005, 12:05 AM
Ok, I'm working on the Boot Camp Sock (http://www.btinternet.com/~redwood3/html/sock_boot_camp.html) and I'm confused. I just don't know where to start the heel flap. I have my sts on 2 needles and I'm supposed to have my stitch holder (which marks the beginning of the row of my sock) on the back needle.

No problem. That means that I have my first 30 sts on the back needle and my last 30 sts on the front needle. I'm supposed to work on the heel flap on the back needle.

Problem now identified!!! My working yarn is on the LEFT side!!!!!! (at the end of the row, that is).

My stitch holder is placed after the first stitch, which you can see in my picture.

Please tell/show me what I have to do.

Jouf
03-23-2005, 12:18 AM
I'm no expert here, BUT BELDIE, each of those needles has exactly the same amount of stitches? Right? Well, to make that flap, you're going to have to knit row, turn, etc. Why not just make the one where the yarn is the heel flap one?

Jouf

PS Was glad to hear you were okay.

beldaraan
03-23-2005, 04:44 PM
Okay, changing tactics. I've been to a few other sites and, despite what "Mark says", I believe I'm supposed to do the following:

start heel flap on last stitch and work "backwards" (which will take me to stitch 31)
turn, etc

this also means that i will purl/slip combo on my first row of the heel flap
turn
knit the second row
rinse/repeat for desired length

Sooo, in my picture, I will start at stitch 60, which is the new back needle, and I should be good....

Am I right????

Jouf
03-23-2005, 05:33 PM
Beldie - sounds right to me. Not sure about that "rinse" part. But yeah just start your slipping, purling, knitting stuff now. Make sure you slip knit-wise - I think.

Jouf

beldaraan
03-23-2005, 08:03 PM
Okay, thanks for the confirmation Jouf. I've started it, so I'll see how it goes.

Hildegard_von_Knittin
03-24-2005, 12:12 AM
Did it work?

beldaraan