PDA

View Full Version : desperate for a teacher

squeak_50
09-08-2005, 08:25 PM
Hello all knitters, I am a newbie! I am also looking to see where I can find a group of knitters, to join or a more experienced knitter to help me. I have done scarves, but thats all, and one person only needs so many scarves. I want to do afgahns, and lap blankets but am overwhelmed by the size of them, and many of the stitches have me totally confused.
I have hung a sign in the local post office and got no responses. There is only 1 store close to me that deals with yarn and they blew me off saying they do not help people for free and there only class meets during the day while I work.
I am so discoraged....I am ready to quit. I do not know what else to do.
~Tracy
i am in central Pennsylvania near the williamsport/lock haven area.

Mer
09-08-2005, 09:04 PM
Hmm, I don't know of any places in your area, but for groups you might want to check out the list here (http://www.stitchnbitch.org/snb_groups.htm) and see if there's one in your area.

If you just need visual directions, have you looked at all of Amy's videos on this site? I could not learn from books at all but having these videos at my fingertips was like having my own private teacher! And anyone on the forum would be happy to help you with any questions! :D

Silver
09-08-2005, 09:33 PM
You can also check this page (http://www.e-offinger.net/tkga/guildsbystate2.cfm) for a local chapter of The Knitting Guild of America. If there is a chapter close enough to you, contact the president and ask where local meetings are held. Most often, you do not have to be a member of TKGA to go to a meeting. They're just happy to have more knitters to talk to! (At least, that's how my chapter is!) :)

rebecca
09-08-2005, 09:40 PM