PDA

View Full Version : Would I be in over my head?

abbygail
01-01-2006, 11:30 PM
Hi Everyone and Happy New Year! :balloons:

I am new to knitting. I took a class in the fall but then I found this site and I learned more from all of you then I did in the class.
I have knitting down but haven't practiced much with purling. A class is being offered on making socks and I am thinking of taking it because I would love to learn to make them. Do you think it would be advisable to try to learn to knit socks when you are a beginner?
Also these hand knit socks, are they comfortable and do they stay up?
I hope these questions don't sound too dumb to all of you. :blush:

Thanks for any help,
Evelyn

Hildegard_von_Knittin
01-01-2006, 11:46 PM
I say do it, and kudos to you for being brave!!! :thumbsup: Welcome to KH :-)

vcuchica931
01-01-2006, 11:48 PM
Yeah I agree. I just did my first sock today and it was easier than I thought-I used Silver's tutorial. But you do have to know how to purl for the ribbing though.

Have fun at the class! (I'm already assuming youre going to go ;) )

mintdee
01-01-2006, 11:50 PM
Go for it! my second project ever was a sock!

But fair warning: They are addictive! :happydance:

Angelia
01-02-2006, 12:02 AM
I went from making scarves to making socks--nothing in between. And socks are great! And yes, they are addictive...but in a good way! ;)

Use Silver's tutorial (http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Beginning.htm). It is wonderful!! :inlove:

And of course there are quite a few sock-knitters here (Rebecca is our Queen), so please ask questions when you get stuck!

Ellen Edwards
01-02-2006, 12:29 AM
YEP--do it!! You WANT to knit socks, right?? You'll learn to purl very soon--watch Amy's videos if you need to!! THen watch Silver's how - to!! You'll have fun being with the other women, too.

KristiMetz
01-02-2006, 01:16 AM