PDA

View Full Version : Knitting Fingers

Yogamommi
02-28-2006, 06:06 PM
I am new to knitting and I hold the yarn in my right hand. I'm noticing that I'm getting a callous (which is sore) on my right index finger. Is this supposed to happen? :thinking: If so does anyone have any ideas of what to do or is this part of knitting that gets better over time? :??

knittingachiever
02-28-2006, 07:26 PM
Is it where the yarn drapes over your finger to hold tension?

The same thing has happened to me, but now I'm calloused like a bass player and I can't feel a thing, so it should get better. If it gets raw, try some triple antibiotic ointment on it overnight.

I had a sore finger experience just recently when I broke out a set of vintage plastic dpns from my late grandmother's cache. They're really sharp, and I got a raw sore spot on the tip of my finger where I'd brace the needle tip to scooch the loops up. Youch!

Ingrid
02-28-2006, 07:30 PM
I have callouses from knitting, too. If I'm working on a long project, I'll build them up in particular spots. I've had to use bandaids for very sharp needles because I must be consistent--I'd poke the same sore spot every single time!
Protect it while it's raw, and your skin will get used to it.

aylaanne
02-28-2006, 07:37 PM
I've used pieces of moleskin that I cut and place on my fingers as well, the yarn and the needles rip up the moleskin and leave my fingers alone. After I take it off, the adhesive comes off with a little acetone nail polish remover.

knittingachiever
02-28-2006, 07:38 PM
I've used pieces of moleskin that I cut and place on my fingers as well, the yarn and the needles rip up the moleskin and leave my fingers alone. After I take it off, the adhesive comes off with a little acetone nail polish remover.
That's a cool idea. I'll have to try it!

sogrammatical
02-28-2006, 08:22 PM