PDA

View Full Version : we're just knitting backwards aren't we?

Randy
03-14-2006, 11:56 PM
Hey Guys:

I'm just new to knitting but it seems to me that because when we get to the end of a row, the fabric on the needle is actually turned around 180 degrees before we can start the next row, knitting one row and then purling (which is the opposite of knitting [who would have tought you could use 'purl' as a verb?]) the next, is merely a way of putting all the knit rows on the same side of the piece. If purling is the opposite of knitting, then the opposite of the opposite is knitting again, right? Is this what we are doing? Would we get the same result by always knitting if we could find a way when we turn the fabric around, to start at the other end? Would we then eliminate the need to purl?

Thank,

Randy

CateKnits
03-14-2006, 11:58 PM
Theoretically, I would think so. You're right about purling being a way to get the "knit" stitch on the other side of the fabric.

Ingrid
03-15-2006, 12:00 AM
There are people who knit backwards to avoid purling.

http://oma57.tripod.com/ktbk.html

http://www.wonderful-things.com/backword.htm

Some sites if you're interested.

I often say that knitting is just one stitch. Period. It's all what you do with it.

CateKnits
03-15-2006, 12:08 AM
Ingrid, what would they do for stitches that aren't stockinette, then? How would you avoid purling in ribbing?

Ingrid
03-15-2006, 12:11 AM
Good question! I guess they knit backwards to avoid purling for stockinette! The very idea of trying to knit backwards makes me break out in a sweat, so I think I'll stick with what I know.

Friskums
03-15-2006, 12:55 AM
That'd be handy for getting a gauge swatch for 'in the round'.

...Once you get good enough to knit the same gauge backwards and forwards.

Guess I'm one of the oddballs, but I don't mind purling. I almost like it better than knitting. I think I go faster. :thinking:

gardenmommy
03-15-2006, 01:38 AM