PDA

View Full Version : cheap storage idea

janelanespaintbrush
04-10-2006, 01:33 PM
Hi all!

Yesterday I found a great storage solution for my knitting supplies -- an inexpensive toolbox from Big Lots! It's not the purtiest or sturdiest thing (it's black plastic with red accents), but it's more than adequate for all of my yarn and supplies. (I'm a newbie so my stash is very modest... so far.) They had a bunch of different sizes, but I got the 19" one which was only $5.99! :cheering: It has several small compartments on top (great for little doodads like tapestry needles, point protectors, stitch holders, etc.), a removable tray in the middle (for medium-sized items), and a large open area below (perfect for my denise set and yarn). I've had it for less than a day, but so far it's working so much better than the basket I used before, where everything was all jumbled up.

I just thought I'd share my find in case anyone else is looking for cheap storage ideas. I was so excited when I bought it, I think the cashier thought I was a little crazy, but so what? It made my day!

-Jane

brendajos
04-10-2006, 01:43 PM
i think the people at Big Lots (of cwap!) are use to crazy! ;)

ya know i had to chuckle wondering how big that tool box had to be to fit stash AND needles in there! it made sense after you said you were new....you are going to need a bigger tool box soon! :thumbsup:

samm
04-10-2006, 04:20 PM
Veeerrrrry soon!!! You will need a bigger box, like a trunk, and then big plastic bins, stacked up, and then.... a whole closet.... and then a room!!! That's the stage I'm at, the whole room stage. Just bought those wire cubes that can be attached to each other to file my yarn in in my sewing room. Of course I still have the big plastic tubs in the store room.... Don't worry, you will catch up to the rest of us. I think someone said the one with the biggest stash when we all are gone, wins? samm who welcomes you to stashdom! :D :XX:

rebecca
04-10-2006, 04:30 PM