PDA

View Full Version : Brand new knitter - looking for easy earflap pattern

bethie
04-18-2006, 02:12 PM
Hello, I am so happy to be here! I am extremely new to knitting having just mastered the knit stitch, purl stitch, and binding off. I hope to have this hobby/passion for the rest of my life.

The vidoes on this website are awesome and have helped me finally figure out what the books can't show you in regards to purling. The thumb trick is great!

I have begun making a simple green knit scarf for my dogchild, Benjamin. Yes yes, perhaps I will be a crazy knitter who makes thinsg for her dog. Time will tell.

However, my hubby wants an earflap hat for Christmas. I have done some basic searches on the internet but what I have found seems extremely difficult, i.e. knitting with dpn like 3 or 4 at a time! or knitting on the round with dpn.

Does anyone know of a good free pattern on the 'net or in a book I can check out of the library that is for a man's earflap hat that is just made on plain ol' regular knitting needles?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

Bethie

roxtarchic
04-19-2006, 02:22 PM
there's a cute one under the free patterns here... and i also thought this one was cute..... (and seemed pretty straightfoward)

http://knitting.about.com/library/blearflaphat.htm

ewww... there's one on lionbrand but now you havta SIGN UP for that? (w'sup w/THAT?)

and this ones ABSOLUTELY adorable w/the pompoms (altho your dh may not be a pompom man) hehe...

http://www.knitscene.com/projects/earflaphats.pdf

good luck!
;)

roxtarchic
04-19-2006, 02:27 PM
oh dear... i didnt read you completely... you dont wanna do a hat in the round, hmmm... i didnt come across any that could be done on straight needles (not dpns which btw, i havent used either)....

ok... you COULD do a regular simple skull cap & then add on the ear flaps (two triangles) by seaming them....