PDA

View Full Version : new to the group and question

sirendipity
04-20-2006, 01:37 PM
hi, my name is gary and i live near New Orleans, Louisiana. I took up knitting b/c one of my friends said it was kinda helpful with dealing with everything going on. using knitting as theropy, let me know if any is interested in that. anyway, i have been knitting for less than a year and really enjoy it. im naturally a very hyper person and knitting really gives me a way to expend some energy. :)~ i love figuring out patterns and fiddleing with them till i get them right.
now my question. i am making a bag to carry my knitting with me every where i go. I knit it in regular garter knit, but used plastic shopping bags instead of yarn. I am almost finished the gusset and am dreading sewing it up b/c not only do i HATE to sew, but im not very good at it. i was thinking that instead of sew them with a neddle, i could connect them with a crochet hook. i am thinking that i saw this somewhere, but can't find out where. does anyone know how to do this and could help me out. i would so so greatful
also, if there are any knitters around chalmette or new orleans, let me know. :)~
:XX:

brendajos
04-20-2006, 01:39 PM
well i don't have an answer for you but i believe you are right, that you can do it with a crochet hook...seems like i have heard that too.

but i did want to welcome you and give you a big ol' {{{{{{{{{gary}}}}}}}}}}} for all you have been going through in the last year!

rebecca
04-20-2006, 02:07 PM
:D I wanted to welcome you, too, Gary :waving: I hope you enjoy the forum! I've never crochet seams together, but I did find this (http://www.crochet911.com/crochet911.html) bit of info on seaming; if u scroll down the page u will find some information on seaming :D

knitqueen
04-20-2006, 02:14 PM
On this page, there are techniques for crochet seaming, several different options:
http://learntocrochet.lionbrand.com/

HeatherFeather
04-20-2006, 02:53 PM
HI Gary!!