PDA

View Full Version : Knitting attacked by fan

silveridger
07-31-2006, 05:20 PM
I don't know what's gotten into my fan (a rotating GE circa 1955 that my parents bought new), but last night it jiggled itself over next to my knitting bag and ripped the yarn tail from the cast on of my Big Bad Baby Blanket. That yarn tail was wrapped around the spindle of the fan blades and broke right off at the very corner of the blanket. Of course, I am three fourth of the way done with that thing, and the first stitches in the cast on row are slowly pulling apart as it sits there in shock from being assaulted. :help: The expression on my face must have been priceless, DH took one look and actually refrained from commenting.

I suppose my best bet is to review the video on how to insert a needle back into the stitches a row or two above the "accident," snip the stitches below the needle, and knit back on a couple of rows the other way, but I've never done anything remotely like that before and I suspect I'm going to hyperventilate during the procedure.

It's a garter stitch border, is there any hope it'll look o.k. afterwards?

Ingrid
07-31-2006, 05:23 PM
I think the fan was trying to say, "I'm old!! Retire me!!!" I have to say that is a first! :rofling:

If you get the needle back in and work it the other way, I think it would look fine, especially if you pick up the stitches at the top edge of the border.

I'm sorry for chuckling, but the attack of the killer fan brings Stephen King to mind. ;)

ladyindica2000
07-31-2006, 06:11 PM
I had never heard of a knitting mishap until I came here... kitties attacking knitting, dogs, and now a fan. I would have been in shock too.

I think it will be fine if you pick up the stitches and knit the other way. It could have been worse -- like lace or something :shock:

Just look at it this way -- now you can learn a new skill. :cheering:

AidanM
07-31-2006, 06:33 PM