PDA

View Full Version : We Call Them Pirates hat. faire isle

geekgolightly
08-17-2006, 04:30 PM
this hat (http://www.helloyarn.com/wecallthempirates.htm) http://www.helloyarn.com/piratehat.jpg
is too cool for me to pass up. i've never done faire isle before but everyone says to just go for it, so i'm going to attempt it. does anyone want to join me?

geekgolightly
08-17-2006, 04:36 PM
the dale of norway hauk yarn suggested is sport weight 100% wool with a teflon coating for water/snow resistance! huh. ill probably just use that and will need to order it, so im going to give a start date of september 1. that way people have enough time to order this yarn (5 bucks a skein, total of two keins needed) and receive it.

beckyrhae
08-17-2006, 08:41 PM
My knitting instructor keeps telling me to just try fair isle... this hat is tempting. I have a ton of things to knit right now, but this may just be my first attempt at fair isle.

Amber
08-17-2006, 09:29 PM
I really like this hat too, and would like to make one for my ds who is really into pirates. The only thing I'm worried about --well, I've never done fair isle before, so I'm worried about that! :wink: -- but, the only other thing is the size. I guess I'd need to play with the gauge or try shrinking it in the dryer... I wonder how well that works???

I'm getting ready to start another big project right now, so I might start this a bit later than Sept. 1, but I'd like to join you!

geekgolightly
08-18-2006, 12:32 AM
becky you know you should just go for it! people fussed at me to try and im gonna. :cheering:

amber ill forge on ahead and attempt it and then when you can come in and hopefully there will be ideas and suggestions that you need already here. :muah:

geekgolightly
08-18-2006, 12:33 AM
ps becky you have chow yun fat in your avatar! i heart him so so much. i crushed on him BAD in the 90's

Liliyarn
08-18-2006, 02:40 AM