PDA

View Full Version : Know what I got today?!

itsbecca1979
08-31-2006, 03:16 PM
My first set of DPNs! :happydance: I picked up a set of size 8 at Michael's, 'cause the only other size they had was 10.5. I got them to make some knitted flowers to cover the goofs on my Aran sweater. I eventually want to make gauntlets as well, anyone wanna recommend a KP yarn to use for them? :cheering:

ETA: They are bamboo!

chan58
08-31-2006, 03:24 PM
Congrats!! Funny I was looking at the same thing yesterday at Michaels but didn't know what size I should get cause I have never used these before and thought I should wait til I needed them for a hat I am planning that is to be knitted in the round then finished with dpn's.
I am a little afraid of them cause I think I will have a heck of a time holding them together Yikes!! :rofl:

itsbecca1979
08-31-2006, 03:28 PM
I'm right there with ya hon, I have no coordination at all!

rebecca
08-31-2006, 04:42 PM
Congrats on your foray into dpn knitting, it's fun :cheering: I would think that most any worsted wt yarn would do fine...Swish for example :wink:

PinkRoses
08-31-2006, 04:51 PM
Becca, I just checked the free knitting patterns on lionbrand.com and there is a free pattern for cozy slipper socks using size 8 dpn's. I don't know if you would be interested in that but if you are, it's pattern 50642. :blooby:

psammeadred
08-31-2006, 09:23 PM
I made that pattern this spring. Just so you know, it knits up pretty big. I have size 7 1/2 feet, and my feet were sliding around in them. Unless you have really wide feet or knit very tightly, you might want to use size 7 needles.

knitaddict
08-31-2006, 09:28 PM
I am a little afraid of them cause I think I will have a heck of a time holding them together Yikes!! :rofl:

Don't be afraid!!! :) I've found that the first 3 sts or so are a bit akward, but once the yarn is joined in the round it gets SO much easier.

Congrats!!! :)

itsbecca1979
09-01-2006, 08:01 AM