PDA

View Full Version : Newbie intro

Mulderknitter
09-26-2006, 06:18 PM
hello all! I am a newbie to the forum, and although I have been knitting for over a year, still feel like a newbie knitter. I am looking for advice on branching out from the knit stitch! I have just recently tried purl, but it seems extremely difficult :grrr: Is that because I knit english style?
Also, does a hat count as knitted if it was done on the knifty knitter? :eyebrow: I never have been able to get the hang of the circ needles, even tho the lys lady has tried repeatedly to show me. there is a fantastic pattern in the Ready Set Knit book for a hat, but since I am scared of dpn's and havent' learned any other stitches other than the knit stitch I am apprehensive :verysad:
Also, I am sooooo envious of all of your fo's, I keep looking and they are all so wonderful! i would post my own but they are all just scarves in the knit stitch, which I am sure you have all seen before! :wall:

Hildegard_von_Knittin
09-26-2006, 06:35 PM
Welcome to the forum!!! Check out Amy's videos at the top tabs for help with purling, and knitting in the round.

orcoastknitter
09-26-2006, 06:44 PM
Welcome to the forum. :hug:

You will enjoy it here. Everybody is very helpful!

I think I need to get new glasses I thought your name was MurderKnitter!

:roflhard:

SabrinaJL
09-26-2006, 07:01 PM
I had been knitting garter stitch stuff for a few years before I found this place and worked up the nerve to branch out. In the few months that I've been here I've learned decreases, increases, cables, DPN's, double-knitting, and a few other things. The videos are great and the people here are super helpful. :)

Mulderknitter
09-27-2006, 09:05 AM
thanks guys for the welcome! lol maybe I should be Murder knitter-I seem to murder almost everything I try to knit a few times before it gets done! :rofl: