PDA

View Full Version : Baby clothing? Any suggestions?

ZamirOrion
10-23-2006, 08:57 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm quite new to knitting and I am gonna have a lil niece soon :heart: . I 'll knit a baby kit but I wanted to know if there was some things to consider before starting. Is there a type of warn that is a no no for babies? How do I go for size? lol It is going to be a great adventure I think :)

Thanks to everyone,

M

Ps: This site is WONDERFUL :cheering: I learned to knit from this site, watching again and again the videos. Good work! :notworthy:

knitncook
10-23-2006, 09:36 AM
You can't go wrong with hats and sweaters and little socks (which are so fun to knit since you can make a baby sock in just a few hours!) And for yarns I would look for things that are very soft. If it is going to be a garment that will need washing (mostly socks and little outfits) I would look for yarn that is machine washable (for a new mom's sanity) When I had my babies I would actually tie knots (gasp) in order to better secure loose ends so they were more machine washable.

Happy auntie hood!

nonny2t
10-23-2006, 10:16 AM
I agree with the (shame on us) knotting suggestion when it comes to things that are going to be washed over and over.