PDA

View Full Version : Does yarn color change the gauge?

KathleenH
01-16-2007, 10:32 AM
I'm very new at knitting - trying to teach myself. My first project was a knit hat, made in ribbing. Turned out very cute. It was hot pink and yellow. It is soft, and the size I intended it to be for my granddaughter.
I bought more yarn (maroon and blue) and made another, exactly the same way, for my grandson. It turned out much larger and not nearly as soft. It's the same brand and style of yarn -- the only difference is the colors.
I looked closely at the stitches and they do not appear to be looser, so I'm sure that's not it.
Any thoughts?

Oh, the only other difference was I used the right hand for one to "throw" the yarn around the needle. On the second one I used the technique of having the yarn in the left hand (which I like better). Could that have made a difference? If anything, I think the knitting was tighter on the second one (that turned out bigger).

I'm confused.

dustinac
01-16-2007, 10:50 AM
Oh, the only other difference was I used the right hand for one to "throw" the yarn around the needle. On the second one I used the technique of having the yarn in the left hand (which I like better). Could that have made a difference? If anything, I think the knitting was tighter on the second one (that turned out bigger).

I'm confused.

This is prolly why it was different.. your gauge was different with the methods.. I am a loser knitter when I throw.. my gauge is tighter with the left hand style.. I knit continetal (left hand style) .. plus for anything that is worn like a hat or sweater I do a swatch and check my gauge to see if it works with the pattern... I would try it again and adjust your needle size to get the gauge you need for the hat...

Chrissie
01-16-2007, 10:51 AM