PDA

View Full Version : Therapeutic Knitting

wandaweberg
01-26-2007, 01:01 PM
Many people find knitting as therapeutic.

In what manner does knitting feel therapeutic to you?

Knitting_Guy
01-26-2007, 01:12 PM
Pretty much in the same way that any hobby would be. It's relaxing and gives me something to focus on besides the normal cares and worries of the day.

auburnchick
01-26-2007, 01:16 PM
It helps me take my focus off of what's going on around me. It's a nice change of pace and provides the mental stimulation that I crave (and it takes up less space than puzzles!)

feminine_earth
01-26-2007, 01:26 PM
Knitting is my thinking time. To anyone who sees me knit (with the tip of my tongue sticking out and a determined look on my face, lol), they think I'm focusing completely on my knitting...but my mind is usually miles and miles away. :)

wandaweberg
01-26-2007, 01:27 PM
Knitting Guy - Thanks for your response. Yes, it is very relaxing. I’m just beginning to try to allow enough time in the morning before work to “get in a few rows” before my 1 1/4 hour commute to work.!

Auburnchick - funny you should mention the space issue - I was just commenting to a friend about how knitting actually takes up less space than some of my other hobbies because usually whatever I have knitted is given away. ! :)

I was reflecting last night as to what it actually was about the act of knitting that soothed me and came up with several answers:

The repetitiveness - induces a meditative state

The natural feel of the bamboo needles in my hand (I have switched from metal)

The soft touch of the yarn against my fingers

The fact that within just a few rows I can actually see the item being made!

wandaweberg
01-26-2007, 01:29 PM
Feminine Earth

When you knit - do you listen to music as well? (loved the visual re: your face :))

wandaweberg
01-26-2007, 01:31 PM
oops - double post!

KathyinCali
01-26-2007, 02:03 PM