PDA

View Full Version : knit dolls

lmc
02-18-2007, 09:12 PM
I've been enjoying knitting toys for the past several months.
These were made for twin 2 yr old grandchildren. I modeled them to look a little like them (but the real kids are cuter!) The little girl really has curls like these (I got these at Michael's craft store).

The fair isle sweater was a first...and it took to the second sleeve to get the patten right.

I love the shoes and socks best.

More photos to follow.

HamaLee
02-18-2007, 09:50 PM
How fun are those?! I love them, great work! :cheering:

Jan in CA
02-18-2007, 10:51 PM
Very cute!

Aquaria
02-18-2007, 11:18 PM
Wow! Great job! :cheering:
Your kids are gonna love these! :teehee:
I'm looking forward to see your other dolls! :happydance:

Knitting_Guy
02-18-2007, 11:50 PM
Pretty cool. Good work. :frog:

Compulsive
02-19-2007, 12:11 AM
Those are wonderful looking dolls--love the personal details. Do you have a link to the pattern or book title? I'd love to make similar dolls to give as gifts.

lmc
02-19-2007, 01:16 AM
The book is called Homemade Beautiful collection of things to make
Cole's Library of Crafts (I found it in a used bookstore)...
page 106 Ruben and Rosie dolls.

Here's a bear I made for a cousin's baby shower gift.

lmc
02-19-2007, 01:30 AM
Another book easy to get is Toys to Knit by Tracy Chapman. 2006 Collins and Brown Ltd. I also made a doll from this book. Doll clothes, the elephant and the Teddy bear in the photo above. I made my Teddy look more feminine than the one in the book. Have fun. I sure am.

lmc
02-19-2007, 01:34 PM
I made this doll, my first for my daughter's friend who had a new baby...actually the elephant was for the new baby and the doll for his 2 1/2 yr old sister. She loved it. Started undressing and dressing it immediately, gave it her own name. I do try to make my dolls look like the kids I am giving them too. (Not that this one does much)...