PDA

View Full Version : Knitting Etiquette

kindermen
04-09-2007, 04:02 PM
I am a fairly new to knitting and need some etiquette advice.I am a registered nurse and will be attending a seminar this week. I was wondering if it would be rude to knit during the seminar?
Thanks!!!

Abbily
04-09-2007, 04:04 PM
I think it depends on whether it would be distracting. If you need a pattern, and you have to spread out several things, it might be distracting. But if you can do it all in your lap or out of your bag, and can still pay attention to the seminar, I think it's fine! Besides, bring it anyway- then if you decide when you get there that you're not comfortable with it, you can always pull it out on your breaks! :)

Julie
04-09-2007, 04:12 PM
My general rule of thumb is: if a gathering is small enough that a presenter would notice my knitting, then I ask ahead of time if it would bother them. If it's really big (lecture or something) I wouldn't be too worried about it. :D

newamy
04-09-2007, 04:24 PM
I too am an RN and haved attened many seminars. I would not consider knitting during them. Not because of etiquette but because I would be taking notes, watching slides, trying to learn something. I guess I would consider the seminar "work" particulary if I am getting paid to be there which has usually been the case. But in regards to etiquette the presenter usually travels all over the country to be there and ususally is an expert in what ever the subject is and deserves undivided attention. Not to mention seminars are expensive and one should try to get all they can out of it. I have never seen anyone knit or crochet or do any other hands on hobby at a seminar.

I would not hesitate, however, to knit on the lunch break particulary if it is a long one. Or before everything begins-because sometimes if you manage to arrive early there is a wait till it begins.

psammeadred
04-09-2007, 04:34 PM