PDA

View Full Version : My scarf pattern

hummingbird
04-14-2007, 06:55 PM
Hi. I hope this is the right place to post this. I just finished making this scarf pattern http://rainydayart.blogspot.com
Would some of you mind giving your opinon on it? I'm still new at making patterns so I decided to post it for free.

Susan P.
04-15-2007, 01:20 AM
I really like it except I'm not sure I like the pointed ends. I've thought of doing that myself a few times and trial runs never produced 'quite' the centred, accurate look I wanted. Can you post another image with the scarf straightened out so we can see those ends and how they run into the main part of the scarf?

One thing I read about charging for patterns is that the pattern really needs to be quite unique. I made a lovely fine wool scarf out of Filatura di Crosa and combined six stitch cable and moss stitch but I really could not see the pattern considering I've not come up with a completely unique pattern as such. I understand that people who sell to knitting magazines etc must demonstrate that their idea is very new and not just a different use of known stitches and so on. Perhaps others can advise. I'm totally fine with people charging but experienced knitters will tend to only pay for something very new and different. It might be something to keep in mind..?

Certainly look at knitting magazines and what they say in the submission section about requirements for patterns.

Susan P.
04-15-2007, 01:21 AM
I really like it except I'm not sure I like the pointed ends. I've thought of doing that myself a few times and trial runs never produced 'quite' the centred, accurate look I wanted. Can you post another image with the scarf straightened out so we can see those ends and how they run into the main part of the scarf?