PDA

View Full Version : OT - I Think My 'Puter is Dying - Laptop Recommendations? / Linux Questions

auburnchick
06-07-2007, 04:46 PM
Hi y'all! Well, I think my seven-year-old computer is dying a slow death on me. :cry: The last three afternoons have been hairy. It starts up fine in the mornings, but by the time I get home in the early afternoon, it's slowed down a ton, and each time I get it going, it takes two or three tries. One of the fans stopped working about a year ago, and because of its age, replacing the fan would near-about be impossible simply because of the way the computer was put together. I really haven't wanted to put in a lot of extra $$ either.

As a computer tech, I'm trying all of the tricks I can think of. But, I've known that this day was coming...

Anyhow, I'm seriously considering a replacement. I like desktops, but my hectic lifestyle tells me it's time to invest in my own laptop (my children each have their own). Plus, I'll be able to use it next year when I start teaching. I'm thinking of maybe getting something with a docking station so I can use it like a regular desktop at home.

Now, I know I can google the heck out of laptop recommendations, but I wanted to get y'all's opinions too. (And I'm so tired of doing research right now...my senior seminar college class is kicking my hiney in the research dept.)

What kind do you have? What do you like about it?

I'm partial to Dells, but I'm open minded. I know that much depends on RAM, yada, yada.

Anyhow, thanks for your input! :muah:

kristinw
06-07-2007, 04:52 PM
Well I have always been a PC girl, but in March I got a MacBook Pro. I can't even tell you how much I LOVE it!!! I really can't say enough good things about it. I never thought I would get (or like for that matter) a Mac, but I don't regret it at all.

Knitting_Guy
06-07-2007, 04:53 PM