PDA

View Full Version : First baby hat????


3kids1036
06-07-2007, 07:06 PM
Do I need to use magic loop on this? I'm using the shortest cord in my denise set, and I casted on 72 stitches, and it still seems too long.

Thanks for any advice!

Mystery_Gyrl
06-07-2007, 07:13 PM
Well, you could do magic loop or use two needles of the same size or even dpns (double pointed needles). What does the pattern say? Some patterns want you to knit the hat flat and then seam up the side and cinch the top.
Katrina

3kids1036
06-07-2007, 07:16 PM
The pattern tells me to use either DPN's or a 16 inch circular needle. I Think that is why I am confused lol It doesn't fit.

Ingrid
06-07-2007, 07:27 PM
Circular needles are measured from tip to tip, not by the cord. Maybe that's the problem? You're going to have to switch when you decrease, anyway, so I'd probably start with dpns or one of the other methods.

3kids1036
06-07-2007, 07:40 PM
Ok, thanks!

Momto G B and H
06-07-2007, 07:49 PM
72 stitches on a 16" circular is really too small. I know this as I've knit about 30 hats recently. You're better off with DPN's or a long (40 in or more) cable for magic loop.

Jan in CA
06-07-2007, 07:50 PM
Yep, the Denise one is 17 in and it IS too long for some things. I usually do baby hats on DPNs, but ML would work, too.