PDA

View Full Version : DPN advice needed

snowbear
06-27-2007, 08:47 PM
OK.. I made the merino dragon. Love it.. sent it to DD ... She loved it.

Now, she wants BIG Dragon!

I know I can get DPN's in 10 10.5 & 11... but they are only 8" long.

If I use bulky yarn... (She wants BIG BIG Dragon), I won't be able to handle the 30+ stitches needed in parts of the dragon.

Any suggestions?

I'm not that good at making needles... & I have no idea how long I would need them...

(grandson's name is Draco- which meands Dragon...)

jeanius80
06-27-2007, 09:12 PM
could you use circulars? just like DPNs but with cables :) what does your dragon look like? love to see him too

snowbear
06-27-2007, 09:20 PM
I really don't think circ's would work.. I have to do the 3 needle bind off to make his spikes...

It starts out w/ 3 stitches.. and goes up to 41 I think.

The pattern was on the Merino site.. I accessed it from here.. I'll look and post it.

I'm probably going to have to break down & make my needles. I'm not very crafty, but I think I can sand & sharpen. I only need 3, so maybe one long dowel stick would work. I just have to get the right size.

snowbear
06-27-2007, 09:21 PM
http://www.morehousefarm.com/KnittingKits/Scarves/Dragon/

It is soo cute, I have orders for 2 others, plus the big one for my DD now.

Doodknitwit
06-27-2007, 10:09 PM
ooooooooohhhhhhhhhh too cute!!!

jeanius80
06-27-2007, 10:14 PM
that is cute :inlove: i think someone on our boards made size 13 dpns and used a 'giant'pencil sharpener for the ends. maybe you could do that?

gamerchik
06-27-2007, 10:43 PM
Hmmm....I know Morehouse Farm Merino sells 10" DPN's on the website (http://www.morehousefarm.com/KnittingEssentials/Needles/), but I don't know how much that extra 2" will help you. :think:

suzeeq
06-27-2007, 11:18 PM