PDA

View Full Version : Mail Order Yarn in Canada


LeslieRR
07-04-2007, 11:33 AM
Just wondering what the best sources for mail order yarn in Canada. thx.

Ellieblue
07-04-2007, 11:46 AM
I would say Elann is your best bet

Emeraldcutie
07-04-2007, 04:45 PM
I like knitpicks since they finally got the shipping and customs thing straight, so they are reasonable now.

knitqueen
07-04-2007, 05:00 PM
I have not ordered from them, but www.theknitter.com has FREE shipping to Canada and the US, with no minimum purchase. That is virtually unheard of.

I heard about it on the Knitting Cook podcast and she was very pleased with their service and has ordered several times.

Jacklad
07-04-2007, 08:45 PM
Elann, as mentioned: http://www.elann.com - BC
Yarn by the Bag: http://www.yarnbythebag.com/ - BC
Ramwools: http://www.ramwools.com/ - MB
Wool & Needlework: http://www.woolneedlework.com/index.html - BC
The Sweet Sheep: http://www.thesweetsheep.com/xcart/home.php - ON
IMR Sheep: http://www.imrsheep.com/index.html - ON
Yarnela: http://www.yarnela.com/ - ON
Wool Tyme: http://www.wool-tyme.com/ - ON
KnitWerx: http://www.knitwerx.com/default.aspx - ON
Yarn Forward: http://www.yarnforward.com/ca/index.html - ON
WoolTrends: http://www.wooltrends.ca/ - NL
KarpStyles: http://www.karpstyles.ca/ - NT
Herschnerr's: http://www.herrschners.ca/ - ON
Mary Maxim: http://www.marymaxim.ca/ - ON
Heirloom Handknits: http://www.prismportal.com/heirloomhandknits/index.html - MB
Knitter's Bazaar: http://www.knittersbazaar.com/ - ON
Awesome Ewe: http://awesomeewe.com/ - BC
Redbird Knits: http://www.redbirdknits.com/ - NB

That should be enough to get you going! Remember that ordering out-of-province can spare you the PST.

Jackie

LeslieRR
07-06-2007, 11:15 AM
Thanks everyone! That's a great assortment of places to order from.

I'm very fortunate to have 3 great LYS's available, but they don't always carry everything (though usually enough to get me into BIG trouble!)

iza
07-06-2007, 11:26 AM
I have not ordered from them, but www.theknitter.com (http://www.theknitter.com) has FREE shipping to Canada and the US, with no minimum purchase. That is virtually unheard of.

:shock: Knitqueen, this is amazing! FREE shipping to Canada? :passedout:

Jacklad
07-06-2007, 12:30 PM
:shock: Knitqueen, this is amazing! FREE shipping to Canada? :passedout:

Not always a deal, though. Orders from the US will come with both GST/PST due and a brokerage fee. Canada Post only charges $5 for brokerage, but the courier services will run you in the $20 range.

OTOH, ordering from Ram Wools (out of province for me) saves me 8% PST and shipping is a flat $8.95 on orders over $55 CAD.

My last order from the US was $75.92 CAD, and with the COD charges the total was $91.55 (and that's only because the seller would ship through the US Post Office; it would have been ~$107 if shipped UPS). Same sized order from Ram Wools came to $89.42 (6% GST plus shipping). It pays to crunch the numbers.


Jackie