PDA

View Full Version : WIP: First ever "lace" project. UPDATED -- ALMOST FO!

mornnen
08-12-2007, 02:11 PM
Hi Everybody--

My cousin and his wife are expecting a baby girl late in October. So I decided to expand my knitting horizons by knitting something lacy -- where I intentionally put "holes" in my knitting. The pattern is called "Lacy Bonnet" from a book called "knitting for two." I really like the pattern, and the knitting part isn't hard. But

I am a bit worried about how this will come together, because I'm not seeing it. But then again, picturing things in my head is not my strong suit. :teehee: I'll just have to keep repeating Ingrid's words of wisdom "Trust the pattern"

Thanks for looking!

Mornnen

kaytee
08-12-2007, 02:13 PM
Great job so far!!!!! I've never tried a lace project. It does look fun though! And I'm still learning to "trust the pattern" too.

cecile77
08-12-2007, 04:14 PM
It looks good so far. I have yet to complete a lace project, that's next on my list.

nonny2t
08-12-2007, 05:02 PM
Very pretty!

mks22300
08-12-2007, 06:32 PM
It's looking very pretty!

MerigoldinWA
08-12-2007, 09:39 PM
Very nice. It looks like a pretty little lace stitch you have going. Yes, if it's a good pattern it should all work out.

mornnen
08-14-2007, 07:25 AM
I need to finish seaming this thing and then pick up and knit 3 rows along the bottom. Then it's done! :woot:

I could use some input. The pattern uses these big dumb looking ribbons (not that I have an opinion) as ties to secure the bonnet to the baby's head. I don't want to do that. Any suggestions? I was thinking of a thin i-cord. And then, where to attach it. Thanks for looking.

Mornnen

Doodknitwit
08-14-2007, 07:55 AM
sweet sweet!!... you are an inspiration

MerigoldinWA
08-14-2007, 12:35 PM